Stepping and Un-Stepping Your Mast

"The Problem"

In total, there are approximately 358 bridges, pipelines, and overhead obstructions on the New York State Canal System (NYSCS). With minimum clearance heights ranging from 15.5’ to 21’, most sailboats and some powerboats will require having their masts un-stepped for the transit.

"The Solution"

Regardless of which direction you are travelling, there are a number of marinas in the approaches to the NYSCS that are well known for stepping and un-stepping masts. Below is a list of the ones known to us with their contact information.


Mast Services

**Do-It-Yourself Gin Pole.
Hudson River
**Castleton Boat Club 92 S. Main Street Castleton-on-Hudson, NY 12033 (518) 732-7077 www.castletonboatclub.com 16.5 NM to Lock E-2
Catskill Marina 10 Greene Street Catskill, NY 12414 (518) 943-4170 www.catskillmarina.net 38.7 NM to Lock E-2
Hop O Nose Marina 162 W Main Street Catskill, NY 12414 (518) 943-4640 www.hoponosemarina.com info@hoponosemarina.com 38.7 NM to Lock E-2
Rondout Yacht Basin 102 First Street Connelly, NY 12417 (845) 331-7061 rondoutyachtbasininfo@gmail.com 58.0 NM to Lock E-2
Lake Champlain
Chipman Point Marina 68 Chipman Pt. Road Orwell, VT 05760 (802) 948-2288 www.chipmanpoint.com chipman@shoreham.net 17.0 NM to Lock C-12
Van Slooten Marina 54 Harbour Lane Rd Port Henry, NY, 12974 (518) 546-7400 www.vanslootenharbourmarina.com 34.1 NM to Lock C-12
Westport Marina 20 Washington Street Westport, NY 12993 (518) 962-4356 www.westportmarina.com 43.2 NM to Lock C-12
Point Bay Marina 1401 Thompson Pt Road Charlotte, VT 05445 (802) 425-2431 www.pointbaymarina.com Skipper@gmavt.net 49.5 NM to Lock C-12
Shelburne Shipyard 4584 Harbor Road Shelburne, VT 05482 (802)-985-3326 www.ShelburneShipyard.com Mary@ShelburneShipyard.com 61.9 NM to Lock C-12
Willsboro Bay Marina 25 Klein Way Willsboro, NY 12996 (518) 963-7276 www.wbm.us
docks@wbm.us
66.0 NM to Lock C-12
The Moorings Marina 332 West Lakeshore Drive Colchester, VT 05446 (802) 862-1407 www.mooringsvt.com info@mooringsvt.com 74.7 NM to Lock C-12
North Hero Marina 253 Pelots Point Road North Hero, VT 05474 (802) 372-5953 www.northheromarina.com info@northhero.com 85.4 NM to Lock C-12
Gaines Marina 141 Lake Street Rouses Point, NY 12979 (518) 297-7000 www.gainesmarina.com info@gainesmarina.com 95.3 NM to Lock C-12
Barcomb Marina 90 Montgomery Street Rouses Point, NY 12979 (518) 297-3939 www.barcombsmarina.com mottboat@primelink1.net 95.8 NM to Lock C-12
Lake Ontario
Oswego Marina 3 Basin Street Oswego, NY 13126 (315) 342-0436 www.portoswegomarinas.com portoswegomarinas@gmail.com 0.4 NM to Lock O-8
Fair Point Marina 14990 West Bay Road Fair Haven, NY 13064 (315) 436-9260 www.fairpointmarina.com 13.5 NM to Lock O-8
Lake Erie
Wardell Boat Yard 1 Sweeney Street N. Tonawanda, NY 12887 (716) 692-9428 www.wardellboatyard.com
wby@aol.com
0.0 NM to Erie Canal
Rich Marine Sales 5 Austin Street Buffalo, NY 14207 (716) 695-3472 www.richmarinesales.com richmarinesales@verizon.net 7.4 NM to Erie Canal
RCR Yachts 284 Fuhrmann Blvd. Buffalo, NY 14203 (716) 856-6314 www.rcryachts.com darren@rcryachts.com 12.1 NM to Erie Canal
Sugarloaf Marina 3 Marina Drive Port Colborne, ON L3K 6C6 (905) 835-6644 www.portcolborne.ca/page/marina 30.5 NM to Erie Canal

This list of marinas providing mast services for transiting the NYSCS can be downloaded for your personal and private use below. This file is Zipped Adobe (.pdf) file format:

Download NYSCS Mast Services List




^ Scroll to Top